“Lover’s Eternal Vigil”

“Lover’s Eternal Vigil”

She’s late.

He’s waiting for her in the parking lot.

It’s boring, but he must stay because people keep trying to steal their spot. He scares them away though.

Suddenly, a strange, drawling voice speaks from the shadows.

“My love… why are you still here?”

Clearly, someone’s trying to trick him.

“Don’t call me that. I’m waiting for someone. Please leave.”

“Have you… been waiting for me?”

“I’m waiting for my wife. Stop bothering me.”

“We must go… hurry.”

“I’m not leaving until my wife gets here. It’s confusing, but, I think there was an accident on the way home and she decided to stay and help out.”

“No… no… we were in that accident.

He scoffs.

“I’ve been trapped… in my body… for years… at the hospital… I’m free now… like you.”

“Get lost!”

“You must… believe me… we must go now.”

The voice is fading.

“Please love… come with me… hurry… I can’t stand eternity… without you.”

Almost completely gone now.

“Please… I love you.”

Silence.

He wonders what’s keeping her.

She’s late.


 

Thanks for reading!

This story was written for theย FFfAW Challenge โ€“ Week of July 12,ย 2016

Photo prompt provided by Phylor. Thank you Phylor!

175 words.

7 thoughts on ““Lover’s Eternal Vigil”

    1. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, that’s the gist of it. The accident sent her into a coma that lasted for many years. She was “trapped” in her own body. Eventually her body gave up and now she is free like him. He was killed instantly but lingered on in a confused state, believing that his wife was on her way. That’s why he find it so annoying that people keep parking in their spot. In his mind, she’ll be there “soon”, even now several years later.

      Sorry if the story was unclear. I found it super-challenging to stay within the 175-word limit and still include everything I wanted. I probably tried to include too much. *^_^*

      Like

  1. has he been left behind in a coma or as a wandering spirit. And why does she feel that she will never link up with him again. A interesting and thought provoking story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

      The accident killed him instantly and sent her into a coma. In his confused state, he somehow breaks the natural order so his spirit doesn’t move on. He MUST wait for his wife. When she eventually dies, years later, he is so far gone (“mentally”) that he doesn’t recognize her when she visits him on her way to… whatever awaits us after death. She can only linger for a while, the “pull” is too strong. She throws all her energy into getting him to come with her, but fails. She is pulled away into the afterlife. She cannot reach him from there. It is doubtful that he could enter the afterlife after all this time, even if he would want to. He probably doesn’t. He’s busy waiting for his wife.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

