“The Miller’s Last Wish”

“The Miller’s Last Wish”

There once was a village where the people all hated each other, except the miller. The miller was generous, helpful and kind towards everyone, and everybody loved him.

The entire village was heartbroken the day he died.

In his will, he’d made a request to be buried with his old, disused millstones. A daunting task, but everyone was determined to help fulfill the last wish of their beloved miller.

When they placed the last stone in the grave they all cheered and celebrated together. Their animosity was forgotten, and they realized that the miller’s last wish had indeed been fulfilled.

 


 

Thanks for reading!

Written for the Friday Fictioneers

This was our photo prompt:

fridayfiction-20160916

16 thoughts on ““The Miller’s Last Wish”

  1. Dear Sonny,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. A sweet simple tale. I understand about those hundred words. I’ve found in the four years I’ve been participating and, subsequently leading, this exercise in brevity that my overall writing has improved. It’s also fun meet and learn from the diverse, global community we share. Again, welcome. I hope you’ll keep coming back.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rochelle! Yes, I think I know what you mean. I’ve written a few stories for other writing prompts that allow 175-200 words, and I had that experience with them. It seemed impossible at first, but I feel pretty comfortable with those limits now. This was my first attempt at a100-word story, and I’m reasonably happy with it. It was a struggle, but I know it will get easier after a few tries. And I certainly agree that it is a very useful exercise. Thank you for taking the time to welcome me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

